Sibelius, Petite Suite

USD $60

Before leaving for Berlin in 1891 on his first foreign study trip, Sibelius wrote three charming pieces for the Loviisa brass septet as a contribution to the brass band repertoire of Finland that was widely popular in the later years of the nineteenth century.

SKU: MM0176 Categories: , , , Tag:

Product Description

Jean Sibelius
arr. Lawrence Dale Harper
Petite Suite
for wind ensemble

Instru­men­ta­tion: 2 Fl, 2 Ob, 2 Cl, 2 Hn, 2 Bsn, Dou­ble Bass
Year: 1891
Dura­tion: 10:00 minutes
Lev­el 4

Score pre­view

Jean Sibelius is wide­ly rec­og­nized as the sin­gle most impor­tant com­pos­er of his native coun­try, Fin­land, and did much to estab­lish a nation­al iden­ti­ty in sound to pro­claim his country’s inde­pen­dence from Rus­sia. In his youth, Sibelius spent his sum­mer hol­i­days in the small idyl­lic town of Lovi­isa, Fin­land. Before leav­ing for Berlin in 1891 on his first for­eign study trip, Sibelius wrote three charm­ing pieces for the Lovi­isa brass septet as a con­tri­bu­tion to the brass band reper­toire of Fin­land that was wide­ly pop­u­lar in the lat­er years of the nine­teenth cen­tu­ry. The con­duc­tor of the septet was Chris­t­ian Haupt, who played horn in the Helsin­ki Phil­har­mon­ic Orches­tra from 1882–88 under the baton of its founder, Robert Kajanus. This mod­ern tran­scrip­tion for dou­ble wood­wind quin­tet and string bass attempts to remain true to the orig­i­nal stark beau­ty and melod­ic bril­liance of Sibelius’s dark­ly expres­sive brass music.

You may also like…